top of page

Getting Pulled Out Of The Ditch

I make calls every day to prospective clients. Some have consultants, some do not. I have had some great conversations with people who are in need of some help and even those who aren't interested now.

Through all of it, the most interesting conversations have been the ones who have amazing potential, but don't grab on to it. In the words of Peanuts creator, Charles Shulz "There is no heavier burden than an unfulfilled potential."

I have spoken to a couple of people who own (or run) a stand-alone stations with a prime format, like being the only CHR or Classic Rock station in town, but their numbers are floundering. I am frustrated for them, as they have a hot format, they own the position (at this point be default), have a good or decent signal in the DMA, but can't get the numbers.

During one of my talks, I found this exchange to be indicative of not realizing potential.

Me: "You own the CHR position in the market and your signal has a nice foot print. After 20 years in the format, you all seem to continue to land in 10th place 12+ and Top 5 or 6 with 18-34. Where do you see areas do you see need help to move forward"

Station Manager: "I don't really see any that stand out. We have a consultant right now and if the numbers go too low, we call him up and he pulls us out of the ditch"

Me: "How often do you talk with this person about the music, talent, promotions, market changes, strategy and other things?"

Station Manager: "When I need to. I mean, we have one station that to focus on, so the work is pretty easy. The jocks are ok and the music is what it is. There isn't much more to talk about."

Me: "Interesting. How do those calls go with your consultant on a regular day?"

Station Manager: "I ask him what to add this week. He asks me if there is anything else to talk about and that's about it."

Me: "How is the station revenue?"

Station Manager: "OK. It seem to be, at least."

I could go on, but you get the gist of it.

What I get frustrated is that this station is in a prime location where CHR should be a Top 3 rated format 12+ and #1 with Women 18-34...but it isn't. I don't blame the Station Manager, I don't blame the owner, as a matter of fact, I don't blame the people/person/company consulting them. I do, however, feel bad for all of them, as none of them, either see the potential or know how to harness the potential.

The Station Manager needs support to work with the staff to be greater than what they are (not that they are bad, they need direction) and make sure sales has what they need in the terms of data/promotions/programming info/leads. The imaging is dated and needs to be updated. The website has outdated info and is not mobile responsive. They are playing the right hits, but the Gold needs help, as do their clocks. Basically, they have the elements to be great, but they are a mediocre radio station that is ripe for a competitor. Since they are a one station company, this could be disastrous for ratings and revenue, if a competitor comes into the picture.

I really liked the Station Manager. He has a great personality and after more talking, he really loves radio. They need help, but have been with the same consultant for over 20 years and they are using the same playbook as the day they started. They need a change, but they are comfortable.

Sometimes, the playbook needs to be updated with a new or improved strategy. If you don't, your potential will be lost.

If you want to have a talk about your station(s) potential without the sales pitch/pressure, give me a call. I will give honest feedback and maybe we can talk about areas that can be improved immediately and, eventually, build a strategy that gets numbers and makes money.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page