top of page

New Year, New Me...Same Ol', Same Ol'


Every year you hear about friend, family and even yourself saying that you have a list of "New Year Resolutions". Sure, we all mean it when we say:

1.) I want to lose weight

2.) I am going to work out more.

3.) I am going to make more money

4.) Get a hobby

...blah, blah, blah

When we make these resolutions, we don't keep them.

Why? Because they are just words that we can say, not promises. That way you can joke that your broke your resolutions within the first month. We do this because resolutions don't hold you accountable.

What if you changed the word Resolution to "Promises to yourself "that reach a specific goal?

And what if that promise to yourself had consequences, just as promises to your loved ones and friends? That adds substance to achieving your goal.

How do you do add substance to your goal(s)?

Instead of:

1.) I want to lose weight

What if you said, "I want to lose 20 pounds by June 1st. If I don't, I have to give up, TV until I lose 6 pounds".

Instead of:

2.) I am going to work out more.

What if you said: "I am going to work out 4 times a week for a minimum of 30 minutes each time and if I don't, I can't have coffee for a week."

Instead of:

3.) I am going to make more money

Say, "I am going to get a second job or change jobs. If I don't, I can't buy ____, until I do."

Rather than:

4.) Get a hobby

Try, "I will learn to play guitar/join a cooking class, so I can make (favorite food)/learn to draw a ___ and I if I don't, I have to listen to/cook/watch on tv...", your least favorite of those categories.

You get the point.

Personally, I have decided:

1.) Lose 25 pounds by June 1. If I don't, I can't have dessert until I lose at least 3 pounds and keep it off for a whole week.

2.) Get out of bed at 4:30am and work out at least, 4 times a week. If I don't, I have to set my alarm for 4am until I do.

3.) Find myself, beyond being just husband, father, financier, shuttle service, manager, chef, cleaning service, by doing something selfish for myself...that means, at least once a month, NO ADULTING! (Which is hell for me, BTW). If I don't, I have to clean the bath tub and shower....which I HATE with a passion. (It severely grosses me out.)

Yes, I have also made professional goals, marriage goals, fatherly goals and each one is a promise to achieve. None are too big and none are unachievable.

While resolutions are fun to say, if you mean then, make a promise to yourself. You deserve that. You deserve having someone making a promise to you...especially, when that promise comes from you.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page